Developing myself to be “More Than a Trademark”

“Wilson? Is that your first name or last name? Wait, your name is Wilson Wilson? Oh, like the volleyball/off of Dennis the Menace/Home Improvement?”

These are all questions I receive almost every time I introduce myself to someone new, each with everyone thinking they are cleverer than the last. Though at times it is slightly annoying when friends or colleagues are constantly belting my name with a mix of “I’m sorry Wilson!” in between, it is something that has grown on me and what I have come to love about my name.

In my 21 years, 9 months, and 18 days (give or take) of existence, I have only met ONE other first name Wilson. While I would love for “Wilson” to be my personal brand, I’m sure the sporting goods company and the belt and other leather accessories company would not be too happy with that choice. So, about 2 or 3 years ago, I came up with my own brand “More Than a Trademark.” While it is on my personal blog and my personal Twitter, and is listed on this blog and my professional Twitter, @FulkWilson, it is still in the process of being developed. As Steve Buttry, from The Buttry Diary, points out, branding can be personal or public. No matter where my brand is or is going, it will always be changing and developing.  I’m not worried about it taking off. It has been and will be my brand, but Nike wasn’t built nor developed in a day.

As NPR’s media correspondent David Folkenflik says in a quote, “People often confuse ‘ideological’ with ‘having a voice.’” I think these are some of the best words of wisdom when it comes to developing your own personal brand. The article “Branded journalists battle newsroom regulations” is a great and empowering way to inform people of the ways to develop and create themselves, while staying in regulation of obsessive or disrespectful.

Image

Leave a Reply

